Summer and Writing, Writing and Summer

My semester is done.

Graduation is done.

School (for the foreseeable future) is done.

So…what comes next?

The biggest thing to tackle is just my writing habits in general, which–if I’m honest with myself–are about as bad as my eating habits. With this in mind, I’m setting a minor writing schedule for the summer.

  1. Five handwritten pages, three days a week.
  2. Reading one book (hopefully) a week.
  3. And, last but not least, blogging at least once a week.

“But, John,” you ask, “why do you feel the need to set a schedule like this now? You never have in the past.”

True. This will be the first summer with a rigid writing/reading schedule. Usually, the three month period of time between semesters is filled with farm work, video games, and enjoying a break from academia in general.

However.

This will also be the first summer without the beautiful, ironclad structure of an academic year following it and preventing me from feeling guilty about my laziness.

So.

That means all bets are off. It’s time to put my money where my mouth is, pull my writing self up by his bootstraps, dust off as many cliches as possible, and improve my writing habits.

I’m excited.

But I’m curious, few followers, is anyone else setting a writing schedule for their summer? Let me know in the comments down below.

About jekcarter

Farmer/Writer/Editor/Advocate for the Imaginary
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Summer and Writing, Writing and Summer

  1. I’m intrigued by number 1. Why handwritten? Do you find there to be a difference between typing and writing? I’m sure there are pros and cons to either method.

    I’d really like to hear a whole blog post about that, because it’s something that has been on my mind as well: to what extent does the medium affect the art?

    • lindaktaylor says:

      Becca, I think that Cathy told us that Jennifer Egan (who wrote A Visit from the Goon Squad–NY Times best-seller) writes in longhand. It’s interesting. I can’t keep up with myself when I hand write, but I like the idea of a notebook and pen . . . John will have to tell us how it goes.

      • jekcarter says:

        That was actually when I decided to seriously switch to handwriting my daily stuff. It’s still kind of new to me, but I’ll try to keep you guys updated!

    • jekcarter says:

      When I use the computer to do any kind of daily writing, I spend too much of my time editing as I write, and I end up not getting much done. I’ve found that it works best for me to handwrite the really rough stages of something, and edit that rough stuff when I move it to the computer. Besides all that, not using a computer lets me write wherever I want–stairwells, under trees, in cornfields, in the barn, in the pasture with the sheep, etc.

      And thanks for the suggestion about doing a whole blog post on just the medium of something! That’s actually a topic I’ve been thinking a lot about lately.

  2. lindaktaylor says:

    Hey John, I have to have a schedule in order to get anything done. Good to start now. It will adjust as the years go by, but to get one into place is a good idea now so you can keep it up. I’d love to hear what you’re reading!

    • jekcarter says:

      I’ll try to post about what I’m reading, though right now it’s proving difficult just getting back into the habit of reading for pleasure!

  3. rhobbs2012 says:

    John, I do have a reading schedule, since I lugged home a lot of books for the summer, and I want to learn about a lot of different things. Becca, I do notice a difference between handwritten and typed writings. I prefer to write poetry, fiction and journals by hand because it makes me feel closer to my words and makes them seem like art, that they can be more fluid somehow. When I write non-fiction and essays, or anything concerning technology, I like to type, because I feel more efficient and knowledgeable, and less distracted by feelings or trying to make things sound pretty, though that’s always important to an extent. I don’t think the medium affects the quality of my work, but the mindset for how I approach it, which does make a huge difference.

  4. Cathy Day says:

    Developing a regimen is so important. I try hard to write in the mornings, every morning, all summer long. I’m revising stuff I’ve already written right now, so it’s all on the computer. Here’s an old blog post of mine about regimens–and handwriting. http://cathyday.com/2010/11/07/five-or-six/

  5. Pingback: The Hard Work of Writing | Linda Taylor's Blog

Leave a Reply

